IET launches its 2018 search for the world’s most groundbreaking innovators in engineering, science and technology


The Institution of Engineering and Technology has announced its annual search for the most pioneering new innovations in engineering and technology.

The Innovation Awards are free to enter and open to any individual, academic team, company or organisation anywhere in the world with an innovative idea or product.

They provide a unique platform for both budding and established engineering inventors to gain increased and invaluable exposure for their work on a global stage. All shortlisted and winning entries are promoted to the IET’s 168,000 members across the globe.

Two new awards are available in 2018: Young Innovators, open to innovators aged 18-35 and focusing on solving a real-world issue; and the E&T Innovation of the Year category, which will be awarded to one of the category winners as an overall winner.

Winners in recent years have included an electric weedkiller, removing the need for herbicides, a non-invasive method of delivering drugs to the eye, an automatic incident detection system that allows obstacles on roads to be cleared faster, and an audio navigation system for visually impaired people.

The Innovation Awards team recently caught up with Rootwave, last year’s Start-up winner, and you can find out how they are getting on in this short video:

Nick Winser CBE, IET President, said: “Innovation is crucial for the growth of the global economy and raising the standard of living in all communities. It’s therefore important that we have recognition like our Innovation Awards to raise the profile of new, innovative ideas – they showcase the achievements of incredible innovators who work in engineering and technology across the world and play a critical role in helping further their work. We must celebrate and encourage innovation to solve our global challenges and to inspire a new generation of engineers.”

Each category of the Innovation Awards is independently judged by a panel of experts in that field, with the shortlist announced in late September. The winners will be revealed at a black tie dinner and ceremony on Wednesday 14 November 2018 at the Brewery in London.

The deadline for entries is Friday 6 July 2018.

The full list of award categories is:

  • Communications
  • Cyber Security
  • Emerging Technology Design
  • Healthcare Technologies
  • Information Technology
  • Intelligent Systems
  • Manufacturing Technology
  • Model-Based Engineering
  • Power and Energy
  • Start-up
  • Sustainability & Environmental Impact
  • Technology Transfer
  • Transport
  • Young Innovators
  • E&T Innovation of the Year

To find out more about the Innovation Awards, sponsorship opportunities or to submit an entry, please visit